top of page
  • Michael Edmondson

How often do you move forward despite thinking you are not ready?


Today’s Navigate the Chaos question is “How often do you move forward despite thinking you are not ready?”

People who navigate the chaos know they may not have all the answers but they still figure out a way to move forward. Actor Fritz Weaver was a familiar stage and screen presence for six decades, with appearances in more than 130 films and TV series, from “Playhouse 90,” “The Man From U.N.C.L.E.,” “The Fugitive” “Mission: Impossible” and “Law & Order,” to “Fail Safe,” “Marathon Man,” “Black Sunday,” “The Day of the Dolphin” and the miniseries “Holocaust,” for which he earned an Emmy nomination.

He won a Tony Award for Best Actor for the 1970 drama “Child’s Play.” Other Broadway productions include “The Power and the Glory,” “The Chalk Garden,” “Baker Street” (as Sherlock Holmes), “The Price” and “The Crucible.” The actor, with a long string of Shakespearean roles under his belt, said in a 2004 interview with Broadway World that Hamlet was the most rewarding, even though - in 1958 - he wasn’t ready for it.

“Not too young - I was unprepared for it. I said, ‘I’m not ready, I’m not ready.’ John Houseman kept saying, ‘That’s perfect. That’s so Hamlet-like.’ … They talked me into it. I still wake up early in the morning and think about moments in it, and I think, ‘Now I know how to do that!’”

How often do you move forward despite thinking you are not ready?

bottom of page