top of page
  • Michael Edmondson

How often do you take the road less traveled?


Today is November 1 and the Navigate the Chaos question is “How often do you take the road less traveled?”

Those who have learned to navigate the chaos have understood the necessity of creating their own path.

American poet and four-time recipient of the Pulitzer Prize for Poetry Robert Frost captured this strategy of the road less traveled in his 1916 poem “The Road Not Taken.”

As Frost wrote “Two roads diverged in a yellow wood, And sorry I could not travel both, And be one traveler, long I stood, And looked down one as far as I could, To where it bent in the undergrowth; Then took the other, as just as fair, And having perhaps the better claim, Because it was grassy and wanted wear; Though as for that the passing there, Had worn them really about the same, And both that morning equally lay, In leaves no step had trodden black. Oh, I kept the first for another day! Yet knowing how way leads on to way, I doubted if I should ever come back. I shall be telling this with a sigh, Somewhere ages and ages hence: Two roads diverged in a wood, and I— I took the one less traveled by, And that has made all the difference.”

How often do you take the road less traveled?

bottom of page