top of page
  • Michael Edmondson

Do you energize your dream or your nightmare?


Today is August 20 and the Navigate the Chaos question to consider is “How often do you remind yourself to give your energy to your dream instead of your nightmare?”

People who navigate the chaos have dreams as well as nightmares; they just focus their energy on the dreams.

William James Adams (born March 15, 1975), better known by his stage name will.i.am, is an American musician, rapper, singer, songwriter, entrepreneur, actor, DJ, record producer and philanthropist. He is best known as a founding member of the hip hop group The Black Eyed Peas (often abbreviated as "BEP"), with whom he has received multiple awards.

William James Adams Jr. was born in Eastside Los Angeles, and was raised in the Estrada Courts housing projects in the Boyle Heights neighborhood, where he and his family were among the few African Americans living in a predominantly Hispanic community. Adams has never met his father, William Adams Sr.

He was raised by his mother, Debra (née Cain), who encouraged him to be unique and to avoid conforming to the tendencies of the other youth in his neighborhood on the east side of Los Angeles.

To encourage his musical career, she sent him to public schools in affluent West Los Angeles. While attending John Marshall High School, he became best friends with Allan Pineda (stage name apl.de.ap), who was also a future member of The Black Eyed Peas.

Adams said “If I am going to pay attention to my nightmare I should be able to work on my dream. One of them will take my energy, I'd rather give my energy to my dream than my nightmare.”

Do you give your energy to your dream or nightmare?

bottom of page